Sahitya Sangeet

Literature Is The Almighty & Music Is Meditation

Mirza Ghalib

Raga Sindhu Bhairavi


(Ascending) : S R2 G2 M1 G2 P D1 N2 S’



(Descending) : N2 D1 P M1 G2 R1 S N2 S



Raga Description

This is a janya raga, derived from Natakapriya , 10th on the Melakarta scale.


However, some say that Sindhu Bhairavi as sung now is a derivative of 8th Melakarta Hanumatodi and 20th Melakarta Natabhairavi asboth R1 and R2 are used in this raga.


I have also read that there it is not a raga which can be so classified because all 12 notes can be used.


 In Carnatic concerts, this raga is not often used for elaborations but for light numbers or bhajans towards the end.


It is indeed quite regularly sung.


 Please note that C is used as Sa for the sake of simplicity as the scale is relative in Carnatic Music.


Also note that the scales paint only a superficial picture of the raga as the gamakas(ornamentations) are a very important part of a raga.


Click For Filmy, Vocal and Instrumental Videos