Sahitya Sangeet

Literature Is The Almighty & Music Is Meditation

Mirza Ghalib

Raga Bhatiyar


Both Madhyams, Rishabh Komal. Rest all Shuddha Swaras.


Sampurna-Sampurna Vakra




Shuddha Madhyam/Shadj


(3 AM - 6 AM): 4th Prahar of the Night : Ratri ka Chaturth Prahar

Vishranti Sthan

S; m; P; D; - m; S;


S m P ; P G r S ; S D N D ; N P ; D m ; P G ; P G r S ; M D S' ;


S r S ; S m ; m D P ; S D ; D N P m ; P G ; M D S' - S' r' N D P ; D N P m ; P G r S;


Raga Description

Raga Bhatiyar belongs to Marwa Thaat and also shows some glimpses of Raga Mand. S D ; N P ; D m ; P G these notes makes a distinct atmosphere for Raga Bhatiyar. This is a complex Raga full of Vakra character and can be learnt only from a Guru.

N D N P D m these notes shows glimpse of Raga Mand. Rishabh and Nishad are used sparingly in Aaroh. Shuddha Madhyam is a resting note in Avroh. Madhyam Teevra is used to start the Uttarang. This Raga produces an anxiety laden atmosphere. It can be elaborated in all the three octaves. Following are the illustrative combinations for Raga Bhatiyar:

S m ; m P ; m D P m ; P G ; P G r S ; S D ; D N P ; D m ; D P ; G P G r S ; M D S' ; S' N r' N D P ; D N ; P D ; m ; D P G r S ; S ,N ,D S ,N r G m D P ; G P G r S ;


Click for filmy, vocal and instrumental videos